Hi - below is a brief resumé of my work.  If you'd like to know more I'd be very pleased to hear from you ...  Rob

... compositions include ... choral works, symphonies, an oboe concerto, chamber music and music theatre. A number of works have been broadcast on BBC Radio 3, including the Second Symphony, a cantata - The Seagull – which was a BBC commission, and the sonata for oboe and piano – A Welsh Bestiary.

I've held a number of teaching posts – including 11 years at The Purcell School – as well as being engaged in other educational projects, such as the 4 volumes for Faber Music in the Superstart series in collaboration with violinist Mary Cohen. Currently teaching at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, the Birmingham Conservatoire, and until 2008 at the University of Birmingham.

My most recent work includes the two-movement Piano Symphony for large orchestra, a solo cantata She Solus, and my current projects - Electric for solo violin and orchestra, and Sky Blue Trades for 15 winds.  I am married to Jo - a linguist and translator - and we have three grown-up children.

<January 2021>

Download Code

Redeem your download code here. You will need to sign in or create an account to receive your files. Thanks & enjoy!

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Robert Spearing to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.


Spearing: Piano Symphony
Spearing: She Solus, cantata for solo voice and piano
Spearing: After Haydn's 'Farewell', concerto for oboe and strings

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore